Sharing Link Settings
When sharing content externally, you can customize the link, including access restrictions, download permissions, and more.
- Restrict Access
- Gate the Link
- General Customizations (e.g. download permissions)
- Editing & Disabling Links
- Default Settings (Admins only)
Restrict Access
- Depending on how you're sharing, click More or Customize Link.
- Switch to the Security tab.
- Click the Security Options dropdown and select Restrict Who Can View the Asset.
- Enter the email IDs or email domains that can access the content.
Gate the Link
- Depending on how you're sharing, click More or Customize Link.
- Switch to the Security tab.
- Click the Security Options dropdown and select Recipient to Enter Their Email ID to View the Asset.
- Select whether to require OTP verification.
❓ Should I use OTP verification or not?
- Use with OTP if you want to make sure recipients enter a valid email. This adds an extra step (entering a one-time code) before they can access the content.
- Use without OTP if you don't need to verify the email, or want to minimize friction for recipients.
General Customizations
- Depending on how you're sharing, click More or Customize Link.
- On the General tab, update any of the following:
- Link Name: helps you identify where a link was shared (e.g., "LinkedIn Post [date]").
- Share Using: if bulk sharing in a template, sequence, or marketing email, switch to the link type for the platform you're using for better engagement data. Learn more in Platform-Specific Sharing Links.
- On Click: for files, controls whether the file opens in a browser tab or downloads automatically.
- Allow Download: for files, controls whether recipients can download the file.
- Send Notification: by default, you'll get an email notification each time a recipient clicks the link. If sharing in bulk, we recommend unchecking this.
- Do Not Track: disables engagement tracking (not recommended).
- Link Title: the content's title as seen by recipients.
Editing & Disabling Links
You can edit or disable a link after it's shared from any of the following:
- My Stuff > My Links
- Open the content and click Content Insights > Links
- Insights > Engagement > Links (Admin only)
💡 Users can only edit or disable links they've shared. Admins can edit or disable any link, regardless of who shared it.
Default Settings (Admin only)
Admins can set a content's default link settings and restrict users from making further customizations.
- Open the content.
- Hover over the three dots to the right of Share, select Settings, and update the default link settings.
⚠️ Changes to default link settings only apply to future shares. To update a previously shared link, see Editing & Disabling Links.
Questions? Reach out to help@enablix.com.